Choose Your Own Adventure

Fork-In-Forest-darker

As a child, I LOVED choose your own adventure books. The ability to be the creator of the story, to have options and choices at various turning points and ultimately to decide how everything is going to turn out was right up my alley! Sure…I cheated a bit. I used to skim through the various options ahead of time and then, satisfied with what was going to happen, I made my choice and headed along in the adventure. These books resonated with me and I have realized that I am still fascinated by choices and the adventures our choices lead us on.

Life is a series of choices and consequences

When making decisions, I find myself back to that place as a little girl reading choose your own adventure books, skimming through possible future outcomes in my mind, and then when satisfied, making a choice and heading off on my journey. If I choose this, this could happen. If I choose that, that could happen. It could be good. It could be not so good. It could be stressful. It could be risky. It could be amazing. It could be heartbreaking. Am I ok with that? Can I accept that? If the answer is yes, then turn to page 52 and have fun! If the answer is no, perhaps this isn’t the choice for you. Let’s explore other options.

The only certainty is the existence of choice and the necessity of acceptance.

Sometimes the book of life turns itself to page 32, or someone else’s choices result in heading to a page you never intended to go. Ugh…page 159. Sometimes we can take action and choose another path or direction. Sometimes though, the only choice we have is the choice of acceptance. Choosing how we feel about it. That might be the most important adventure of all.

Have fun!

Leave a comment